FRIDAY: Sunny and a bit breezy. High: 75. Winds: West 10-15 mph, gusting to 25 mph.FRIDAY NIGHT: Mostly clear. Low: 51. Winds: Southwest 5-10 mph.SATURDAY: Mostly sunny. High: 79. Winds: Southeast 10-15 mph.Joe ...more »
House Holds Power After Amendatory Veto
There will definitely be some fireworks at the Illinois statehouse, and not just because of the Fourth of July.
July 9 is the date by which the federal government mandated Illinois have a concealed carry law in place. What that legislation will look like is still up in the air.
Both chambers overwhelmingly passed a bipartisan bill for concealed carry that was then sent to Gov. Pat Quinn.
"I've examined this particular bill over the last several weeks very carefully," Quinn said Tuesday at a press conference in Chicago. "And there are serious flaws in this bill that jeopardize public safety."
Quinn is using his amendatory veto power to change several parts of the bill, including banning guns from all places with a liquor license, limiting gun owners to carrying one weapon with no larger than a 10-round magazine and allowing local governments to impose their own limits on assault weapons.
But the House bill's chief sponsor has already filed a motion to override all of that.
"He more or less gutted this whole bill and kind of re-wrote it," Democratic Rep. Brandon Phelps said. "So it just shows how much regard, or how much disregard, he's got for the General Assembly."
It is the General Assembly that has the power. Specifically, the House of Representatives, where the bill was crafted and overwhelmingly approved. It is expected the House will easily hit the three-fifths majority vote required to override the veto and send it to the Senate.
"If the Senate were to fail to override, the bill would die," UIS political science professor Kent Redfield said. "You can't go back and undo the choice that's been made in the House about whether to accept the governor's amendatory language or try to override it."
Both chambers could also agree with governor's changes, but that might not be the end of the issue.
"The judge could look at this and say this isn't concealed carry, there are too many restrictions," attorney Jon Noll said. "It doesn't meet the criteria of what was defined under the law. I doubt if that court would do that without separate lawsuits being had in that regard."
Attorney General Lisa Madigan still has time to appeal the court's original ruling--the one that requires Illinois be like all other states in the nation and have concealed carry. Madigan has until July 22.
Meanwhile, Illinois State Police will have 180 days to implement a concealed carry program. They then have 90 days to run background checks and start issuing permits. Keep in mind you cannot get a license until you complete the training requirements. That license will cost $150 and be valid for five years.